Beetham PC

Beetham Parish Council Home Page Image



A poll will not take place to elect parish councillors in Beetham Parish on 4th May 2023 as the number of nominations received by the deadline did not exceed the number of seats on the Parish Council.  The election in Beetham Parish is therefore considered non-contested.

Following the decision of three parish councillors not to stand for re-election, the parish council is now seeking to co-opt three residents to fill the vacant positions, two for West Ward (Storth, Sandside & Carr Bank) and one for East Ward (Beetham, Slackhead, Hale, Whassett & Farleton).

If you are interested in becoming a parish councillor and getting involved in activities & issues within Beetham parish, please contact John Scargill, Clerk to the Council on :

Tel : 01524 782 811 or e-mail :

2)   ANNUAL PARISH ASSEMBLY was held at Heron Theatre, Beetham at 8.00pm on Thursday 16th March 2023.  There was a short presentation by Andy Vickers, Westmorland & Furness Council entitled "An Inside Look at South Lakeland's Street Scene" followed by questions. 

A copy of the Chairman's Annual Parish Review may be read on the parish council website;

The Annual Parish Review may be accessed by clicking on the "Parish Reviews" tab at the top of the main page, then clicking on "April 2022 - 2023".


March 2023 : The parish council response submitted on 7th March 2023 can be reviewed by clicking on "Responses" in the upper banner on the main screen.


Welcome to Beetham Parish Council Website

Accessibility Statement for Beetham Parish Council   Click Link to Download PDF

The villages of Beetham and Storth in the west of the parish form the largest centres of population in the parish. In addition, smaller communities are located at Carr Bank, Sandside, Hale, Slackhead, Farleton and Whasset. To the west, the Arnside and Silverdale Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty (AONB) is a region of low limestone hills and natural woodlands. The coast of the Kent Estuary forms the western boundary of this area. The parish is divided into two Wards, East and West. East Ward is 3-4 times the area of West Ward but has a slightly lower population. The eastern part of the parish around Farleton and Whassett is dominated by the hill of Farleton Knott. The area is mainly meadow and pasture used for dairy and stock rearing.

Beetham Parish Plan   Click Link to Download PDF

Structure, Roles, Responsibilities


Beetham parish extends from Farleton in the east to Carr Bank in the west and is split into two wards.  The East Ward covers Farleton, Elmsfield, Whassett; Beetham, Hale, Slackhead and Haverbrack; the West Ward covers Storth, Sandside and Carr Bank.  The division into East and West Wards is illustrated click here to view.

The parish council is a small local authority, as defined by the Local Government Act 1894.  It is the tier of local government closest to the people it serves.  Beetham Parish Council is composed of 9 parish councillors, four representing the East Ward and five representing the West Ward.  In addition, a Parish Clerk is employed part-time by the parish council.  Elections for all nine councillors take place every four years, providing there are more than 4 candidates in the East Ward and 5 candidates in the West Ward.  Any member of the public residing in the parish and over the age of 18 can stand for election. 


The parish council is expected to ensure that the views of the community are taken into account by the various authorities, agencies and organisations that make legislation and take decisions on services and issues affecting the community
It has the power to raise money through taxation via a precept collected alongside Community Tax by Westmorland & Furnass Council (WFC).  A declared aim of the parish council is to undertake whatever action is needed to attain Quality Parish status.
The parish council meets in alternate months in Beetham and Storth on the first Monday in each month (apart from August).  All parishioners are welcome to attend.  Agendas are posted on the parish council notice boards around the parish prior to each meeting.


The responsibilities of a parish council include the following :
1)  Planning
Councillors receive copies of all local planning applications.  Depending on the location, planning applications are reviewed by either the East Ward Planning Sub-Committee or the West Ward Planning Sub-Committee.  Comments are then made to WFC who are responsible for the approval or rejection of the application.  The local knowledge of councillors means that issues can be brought to the attention of the planning department of WFC at the appropriate stage in the planning process.
2)  Parish Maintenance
An important objective of the parish council is to ensure that the local environment within the parish is maintained to a high standard.  This is achieved via a Parish Steward paid directly from parish council funds and by liaising with a Highway Steward employed by Cumbria County Council.  Specialist arborists and wallers are employed as necessary.
Any issues raised by individual members of the council or parishioners are considered for action.
3)  Street Lighting
The parish council is responsible for the maintenance of a limited number of street lights within the parish.  A close liaison is maintained with SLDC who are responsible for minor road lighting in the parish and with the Highways Department of Cumbria County Council who are responsible for lighting along more important traffic routes.
4)  Roads and Footpaths
Maintenance of local roads is the responsibility of the Highways Department of Cumbria County Council.  The parish council informs this group when repairs of damage to the roads are required. 
Cumbria County Council are also responsible for the maintenance of footpaths within the parish.  However, invaluable support is also provided by the Arnside & Silverdale Area of Natural Beauty (AONB) for that part of the parish within the AONB (west of the A6 road).  The parish council works closely with both organisations to ensure that repairs are carried out in a timely manner.
The Sandside Cutting footpath, currently a permitted pathway, lies on land owned by the parish council.  The parish council is therefore responsible for maintenance along the length of the cutting.  This is managed by a Sandside Cutting Working Group composed of councillors residing in West Ward.
5)  Local Issues
The parish council is actively involved in many other local issues that affect residents of the parish.
6)  Parish Newsletter
A Parish Newsletter is published four times a year to inform residents of the activities of the parish council.  Copies are placed in the parish notice boards, selected locations in the parish and also on the Beetham Parish Council Website click link (
7)  Other Activities
The parish council is involved in crime prevention measures and any initiatives that will improve the quality of life of its residents.  It liaises with Cumbria County Council regarding traffic problems and supports local organisations.  Though not a direct responsibility, the parish council has a leading involvement in organising the Annual Parish Assembly.


  |   TOP  |   >

Beetham Parish Council
Brian Meakin. 8 Old Myse, Storth, Milnthorpe, Cumbria, LA7 7HQ
Tel: 01539 565722
Designed by A2A Internet | Login